ST. CLOUD (WJON News) -- Six people are vying to become the next mayor of St. Cloud.

The field of candidates includes three current city council members including Mike Conway, Carol Lewis, and Jake Anderson. There are also three newcomers in the race including Anne Buckvold, Steven Dwaine Schiller, and James F. Trantina III.

All six will be on the ballot during the primary election in August. The top two candidates with the most votes will advance to the general election in November.

Current Mayor Dave Kleis announced earlier this year that he's not seeking re-election after holding the position for nearly 20 years.

AM 1240 WJON logo
Get our free mobile app

The candidate filing period closed on Tuesday.


Best counties to retire to in Minnesota

Stacker compiled a list of the best counties to retire in Minnesota using data from Niche.

Gallery Credit: Stacker

More From AM 1240 WJON