WASHINGTON, D.C. - Minnesota's two U.S. Senators signed on to legislation today (Tuesday) that would keep the air traffic control tower open in St. Cloud.

Senators Amy Klobuchar and Al Franken joined 16 other senators for the bipartisan "Protect Our Skies Act".  It would prohibit the Federal Aviation Administration from suspending operation of any air traffic control towers through the end of fiscal year 2014.

St. Cloud's tower is one of two in Minnesota that's scheduled to be shut down in June, due to the federal sequester, the other is the Anoka County-Blaine Airport.