WAITE PARK -- Cities, townships and counties that were included in the federal disaster declaration from June storms have started the reimbursement process.

The Minnesota Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management held an applicant briefing in Waite Park today. It started the application process to be reimbursed for costs associated with the storms.

John Moore is the Recovery Mitigation Branch Director for the state's emergency management division. He says the type of damage generally determines how quickly local governments are reimbursed. For example, Moore says debris cleanup and removal happens more quickly than bridge repairs and replacement.

Stearns, Benton and Morrison counties were among the 18 Minnesota counties included in the president's disaster declaration. The storm damage estimate for those 18 counties is estimated at approximately $17-million.

Up next, FEMA officials will meet with the individual applicants to evaluate their applications.

More From AM 1240 WJON