UNDATED -- Four local teachers are among this year's candidates for Minnesota's Teacher of the year.

Chris Ann Johnson is a science teacher at St. Cloud's Apollo High School, Lynette Faber is a first-grade teacher at ROCORI's John Clark Elementary, Shelby Chollett is a language arts teacher at Sauk Rapids-Rice Middle School, and Nancy Davis is a fourth-grade teacher at Rice elementary.

There is a total of 168 candidates this year.

The 55th Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced on Sunday, May 5th in St. Paul.

Have WJON News Sent to Your Inbox

Subscribe to the WJON Newsletter and have top local news headlines sent to your inbox every day.