It takes a lot of talent from areas of theatre to put together  great show. As one who has been a part of theatre for many years I know first hand it takes a lot of hard team work, and energy to create the success that turns into an applause from the audience. It's always an honor to be recognized for one's accomplishments as The GREAT Theatre has done by providing $2,500 in scholarship money funded by Dennis Whipple and grant awards to various school departments.

A great way to get area talent and their schools/districts recognized as all were invited to participate. The seven 2012 partner schools were Cathedral High School, Becker High School, Princeton High School, Ricori High School, Sartell High School, Sauk-Rapids High School and Technical High School.

Ten theatre productions were attended by GREAT judges throughout the 2011-2012 school year. An applause alone goes to Artistic Director Dennis Whipple for offering the scholarships.

The following Scholarship winners had honorable mentions in each category:

Outstanding Actor in a Musical

Winner went to Carl Lindolm - Joseph in the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat - Sauk Rapids - Rice

Outstanding Actress in a Musical

Winner - Shannon Sharp - Rosie Alvarez in Bye Bye Birdie - Ricori

Outstanding Actor in a Play

Winner - Phil Hoelscher - Much Ado About Nothing - Tech

Outstanding Actress in a Play

Madilyne Wegener - Much Ado About Nothing - Tech

Outstanding Supporting Actor

Winner - Charlie Engelsgjerd - The Dentist in Little Shop - Sartell

Outstanding Supporting Actress

Winner - Nicole Sorenson - Lina Lamont in Singin' in the Rain - Princeton

Outstanding Ensemble

Winner - Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat - Sauk Rapids - Rice

Outstanding Technical Work

Winner - Singin' in the Rain - Princeton

Overall Production

Winner - Little Shop of Horrors - Sartell

More From AM 1240 WJON