The Huskies team captain Drew LeBlanc and head coach Bob Motzko were both named finalists for prestigious awards.

Senior forward Drew LeBlanc has advanced to the final round as a Hobey Baker Award nominee, and head coach Bob Motzko was named a finalist for the Spencer Penrose Award honoring the NCAA's coach of the year.

LeBlanc was named a "Hobey Hat Trick" finalist along with Johnny Gaudreau of Boston College and Eric Hartzell of Quinnipiac.

LeBlanc led the nation with 37 assists while also scoring 13 goals for SCSU. The Hermantown native led the Huskies to the MacNaughton Cup as the WCHA's regular season champions while also being named the league's Player of the Year and Scholar Athlete of the Year. He is the first player in league history to win both awards.

Bob Motzko enjoyed his first-ever regular season WCHA title in 2012-13 as head coach of the Huskies. SCSU is currently 25-15-4 heading into the Frozen Four.

Also in the running for the award are Keith Allain of Yale,Miami’s Enrico Blasi,  Norm Bazin of UMass-Lowell,  MSU-Mankato’s Mike Hastings, Niagara’s Dave Burkholder and Quinnipiac’s Rand Pecknold. Of note, Hastings was named the WCHA Coach of the Year last week in his first season in Mankato.