Penn State football coach Joe Paterno has decided to retire at the end of the season, his long career brought down by his failure to do more about an allegation of child sex abuse against a former assistant. It was just on Saturday that coach Paterno won his 409th game, moving up to #2 on the all-time wins list. Still well behind the all-time leader, St. John's coach John Gagliardi. Here's a look at the top five all-time leaders:

  • 1

    John Gagliardi

    Carroll College/St. John's University (1949-2011): 483–133–11

    John Gagliardi is currently the head football coach at Saint John's University in Collegeville. A position he has held since 1953. From 1949 to 1952, he was the head football coach at Carroll College in Helena, Montana. With a career record of 483–133–11, Gagliardi has the most wins of any coach in college football history. His Saint John's Johnnies teams have won four national titles: the NAIA National Football Championship in 1963 and 1965, and the NCAA Division III National Football Championship in 1976 and 2003. Gagliardi was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2006. With Chris Ault and Joe Paterno, he is one of three active coaches in the Hall of Fame.

    Stearns History Museum
  • 2

    Joe Paterno

    Penn State (1966-2011): 409–136–3

    Joseph Vincent "Joe" Paterno (born December 21, 1926) is a college football coach, and is currently the head coach of the Penn State Nittany Lions, a position he has held since 1966. Paterno, nicknamed "JoePa", holds the record for the most victories by an FBS football coach with 409 and is the first and currently only FBS coach to reach 400 victories. He has coached five undefeated teams that won major bowl games. Paterno is one of three active coaches inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as coaches (along with Chris Ault and John Gagliardi).

    Getty Images
  • 3

    Eddie Robinson

    Grambling State (1941-1997): 408-168-15

    Edward Gay Robinson (February 13, 1919 – April 3, 2007) was an American football coach. For 57 years from 1941 to 1997, he was the head coach at Grambling State University, a historically black university in Louisiana. At the time of his retirement in 1997, he was the winningest coach in college football history. Robinson was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1997. Robinson was born in Jackson in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, to the son of a sharecropper and a domestic worker. He went on to graduate from McKinley Senior High School in Baton Rouge in 1937. He went on to earn his bachelor's degree from Leland College in Baker in East Baton Rouge Parish, then went on to obtain his Master's degree from the University of Iowa in Iowa City in 1954. Robinson was a member of Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity.

    Getty Images
  • 4

    Bobby Bowden

    Samford/West Virginia/Florida State (1959-2009): 377-129-4

    Robert Cleckler "Bobby" Bowden (born November 8, 1929) is a retired college football coach. He coached the Florida State Seminoles football team from the 1976 to 2009 seasons. During his time at Florida State, Bowden led FSU to an Associated Press and Coaches Poll National Title in 1993 and a BCS National Championship in 1999, as well as twelve Atlantic Coast Conference championships since FSU joined the conference in 1991. After a difficult 2009 season and amid questioning fans, Bowden announced his retirement from FSU on December 1, 2009, just weeks after his 80th birthday. His final coaching appearance was the 2010 Gator Bowl game on January 1, 2010, with a 33–21 victory over his former program, West Virginia. Bowden finished his career second in all-time wins by a Division I-FBS coach with 389 wins. A March 6, 2009 NCAA ruling requiring Florida State to "vacate wins for any games in which an ineligible player participated," threatening to remove as many as 14 of Bowden's wins from the 2006 and 2007 seasons in relation to an academic scandal; Florida State appealed the ruling. The NCAA upheld the ruling on January 5, 2010. Upon final investigation by Florida State University it was determined that Bowden was to vacate 12 wins, bringing his final career record to 377–129–4

    Getty Images
  • 5

    Amos Alonzo Stagg

    Springfield College/Chicago/Pacific (1892-1946): 329-190-35

    Amos Alonzo Stagg (August 16, 1862 – March 17, 1965) was an American athlete and pioneering college coach in multiple sports, primarily American football. He served as the head football coach at Springfield College (1890–1891), the University of Chicago (1892–1932), and the College of the Pacific (1933–1946), compiling a career college football record of 314–199–35. His Chicago Maroons teams of 1905 and 1913 have been recognized as national champions. He was also the head basketball coach for one season at the University of Chicago (1920–1921), and the head baseball coach there for 19 seasons (1893–1905, 1907–1913). Stagg played football as an end at Yale University and was selected to the first College Football All-America Team in 1889. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as both a player and a coach in the charter class of 1951 and was the only individual honored in both roles until the 1990s. Influential in other sports, Stagg developed basketball as a five-player sport and was elected to the Basketball Hall of Fame in its first group of inductees in 1959.