ST. PAUL (AP) - The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference has named its annual Coach of the Year award for football after the recently retired John Gagliardi.

The MIAC made the announcement Thursday. Gagliardi spent 60 seasons at St. John's while compiling 489 victories, the most by any head coach at any level of college football in history, until stepping aside in November at age 86. Gagliardi has been replaced by Gary Fasching, one of his former players and assistants.

Gagliardi received the award at least 14 times, according to the conference, most recently in 2009. Last year's winner was Glenn Caruso of St. Thomas.