ST. PAUL  (AP) - Minnesota members of the U.S. House have split on a bill aimed at keeping the government from defaulting on its debts.

Democrats Keith Ellison and Betty McCollum joined Republicans Chip Cravaack and Michele Bachmann in voting no. The measure passed the House by a 269-161 vote Monday night.

McCollum had voted twice to increase the debt ceiling. But she says tying "massive cuts" to a debt ceiling increase is "completely unnecessary, totally counterproductive, and it will make America's job crisis even worse."

Minnesota Democrats Collin Peterson and Tim Walz joined Republicans John Kline and Erik Paulsen in voting yes.

Walz says the compromise "is not perfect," but he believes it will help stabilize the economy. Kline says he's glad the proposal is free of tax increases.

The Senate is scheduled to vote on the bill Tuesday.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)

More From AM 1240 WJON