A new Division I men's college hockey conference is being formed and will start play in the 2013-2014 season.  The new conference called the National Collegiate Hockey Conference announced Wednesday that the league will consists of 6 schools: North Dakota, Minnesota-Duluth, Colorado College, Denver, Nebraska-Omaha and Miami-Ohio.  The league is also pursuing additional members but have not contacted St. Cloud State.

Five of the schools forming the NCHC are leaving the WCHA leaving the conference with 5 schools including St. Cloud State.  SCSU head coach Bob Motzko says the WCHA will continue to exist and will pursue new members but wouldn't identify who those members would be.

Motzko did say he expects to continue playing the Minnesota Gophers and would like to continue to play North Dakota and Minnesota-Duluth despite them being non-conference opponents in the future.