ST. PAUL -- Governor Mark Dayton has approved state disaster assistance for 10 central Minnesota counties following July storms which brought severe storms, flooding and high winds to the region.

Some counties approved for aid include Benton, Meeker, Morrison, Mille Lacs and Crow Wing.

Nearly $5,500,000 in aid has been approved through the State Disaster Assistance Contingency Fund. The state will pay 75% of the costs for infrastructure repairs and clean-up costs.

Benton County Emergency Management Director Jim McDermott says the county has an estimated $180,000 in storm damage. The damage came primarily in the form of washed out township roads and culverts.