ST. CLOUD -- A former St. Cloud City Council member will be sworn in to a seat on the St. Cloud City Council tonight.

Jeff Goerger was appointed to fill a seat left vacant with the election of John Pederson to the state senate.

Four people applied for the position, including Greg Reigstad, Garner Moffat, Jake Anderson and Jeff Goerger. Council members voted by ballot and selected Goerger by a 6-to-1 vote. Sonja Berg was the lone dissenting vote when she picked Greg Reigstad.

It's Goerger's second stint on the council. He was defeated by Sonja Berg for an at-large seat in the 2008 election.