The WCHA is likely to vote today to add Northern Michigan to the conference beginning in the 2013-2014 season.  That would give the conference 6 schools starting that season.  The WCHA is losing Minnesota and Wisconsin to a Big Ten hockey conference and Colorado College, Denver, North Dakota, Minnesota-Duluth, and Nebraska-Omaha are leaving the WCHA to join a new conference starting in 2013-2014 called the National Collegiate Hockey Conference.

Northern Michigan was a member of the WCHA from 1984-1997 before leaving to join the CCHA. The WCHA would consist of St. Cloud State, Minnesota State-Mankato, Bemidji State, Michigan Tech, Northern Michigan, and Alaska-Anchorage in 2013-20-14.

Minnesota State-Moorhead is also exploring added Division I hockey programs for men's and women's hockey.