The Western Collegiate Hockey Conference has thrown out an invitation to 5 schools in the CCHA to join the conference starting in 2013-2014.  The WCHA has invited Alaska-Fairbanks, Bowling Green, Ferris State, Lake Superior State and Western Michigan.  The leaders of the WCHA and CCHA met in Chicago last week and the CCHA has 30 days to decide whether to make the move.

The WCHA is scheduled to consist of St. Cloud State, Minnesota State-Mankato, Michigan Tech, Northern Michigan, Bemidji State, and Alaska-Anchorage in 2013-2014.  Minnesota and Wisconsin are leaving the WCHA to help form a Big Ten hockey conference and North Dakota, Colorado College, Denver, Minnesota-Duluth, Nebraska-Omaha, and Miami-Ohio are forming a new conference called the National Collegiate Hockey Conference.