ST. CLOUD - St. Cloud has five new police officers patrolling the streets.

The officers were sworn-in this (Monday) afternoon during a ceremony at the Police Headquarters.  They are: Janelle Graff, Jacob Lanz, Megan McDonald, Ryan Sayre, and Darin Vossen.

Mayor Dave Kleis says there were a lot of people who applied for the jobs, and these are the cream of the crop.

Their salaries are being paid for through a federal COPS grant.  U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar says for every dollar that goes into the grant program it's estimated it saves about $8.50 in other government services.