Contact Us

St. Cloud State Hockey to Leave WCHA, Join NCHC?

twodolla, Flickr

It appears St. Cloud State could be joining the new National Collegiate Hockey Conference.

College Hockey News is reporting SCSU and Western Michigan will  join the NCHC conference.

“WMU and St. Cloud State will join North Dakota, Denver, Colorado College, Nebraska-Omaha, Minnesota-Duluth and Miami in the NCHC. They weren’t initially invited, while the league awaited a decision from Notre Dame, which also has an invitation. But with Notre Dame’s decision delayed, the NCHC has reached out to Western Michigan and St. Cloud State to reach eight teams.”

The moves are the latest in a reshuffling of Division I hockey programs across the country.

SCSU is currently a member of the WCHA which has been talking with CCHA schools to join their conference starting in 2013-2014.  Minnesota schools Bemidji State and Minnesota State-Mankato are also members of the WCHA.

The University of Minnesota and Wisconsin will join the Big Ten.

St. Cloud State University will hold a news conference at 1 p.m.  Thursday to announce its decision regarding the invitation to join the National Collegiate Hockey Conference.


Best of WJON

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The WJON VIP Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive The WJON VIP Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.