ST. CLOUD - The St. Cloud area school district has picked Debbie Erickson to fill an empty seat on the school board.

Erickson is co-chair of the District 742 bond referendum committee and was a member of the high school task force. She is also a board member of the local education and activities foundation (LEAF).

Hudda IbrahimPeter HamerlinckHassan YussufShannon Haws, and Scott Andreasen were the other finalists for the open seat.

The board interviewed all six during a special meeting on Tuesday night. School board chair Dennis Whipple says Erickson's prior experience in the district made her a great choice.

"In terms of the strengths-it's really the involvement in [District] 742 and the passion for education and the community."

The seat was open after Cindy Harner resigned in May. Erickson will fill Harner's seat that is up for re-election in November 2016.