ST. CLOUD -- St. Cloud Mayor Dave Kleis has announced the formation of a selection committee for the city's new police chief.

The 13-member board will help recruit and select the finalists for the position left vacant by the retirement of Chief Dennis Ballantine.

Among the notable names on the committee are SCSU President Earl Potter, District 742 Superintendent Bruce Watkins, former St. Paul Police Chief and current Minnesota Senator John Harrington and Julie Leapaldt who is a board member of Anna Marie's Alliance.

Mayor Kleis expects to have a new chief in place by early summer.