ST. PAUL  (AP) - President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster in Minnesota after severe storms, tornadoes and flooding earlier this month.

Gov. Mark Dayton says the declaration covers 14 counties and one tribe.

Preliminary damage assessments found nearly $19 million in costs and damages to the storm area.

The disaster area includes the counties of Chisago, Isanti, Kandiyohi, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Mille Lacs, Pine, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Stearns and Yellow Medicine as well as the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe.

The declaration will send money to state and local governments - and some non-profit organizations - for repairs to facilities damaged by the storm in the disaster area.

Federal money is also available to mitigate hazards in all counties and tribes in Minnesota.

FEMA will fund 75 percent of approved costs.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)