ST. CLOUD -- With the start of the new year, area county boards have elected their new leaders.

In Stearns County, commissioners voted Mark Bromenschenkel as board chairman and Leigh Lenzmeier as vice-chairman.

Bromenschenkel takes over for Jeff Mergen as chair.

In Benton County, Jim McMahon was elected chairman and Jake Bauerly was elected vice-chair.

McMahon replaces Joe Wollak as the chairman.