UNDATED - Tomorrow (Tuesday) is Primary Election day in Minnesota. Most polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m.

Matt Lindstrom is a political science professor at the College of St. Benedict and St. John's University. He says the primary election is about a month early this year.

There are contested races on the Republican side for U.S. Senate, Sixth Congressional District, and Governor.

The Republican candidates hoping to unseat Gov. Mark Dayton later this fall are in a last-minute scramble to lock up votes.

The four major candidates worked cafe counters, manned phone banks and surfed talk radio Monday in a primary that has no breakway favorite.

Business executive Scott Honour visited a Stillwater diner that's caught heat for imposing a "minimum wage fee" and said he supported the owner for highlighting what he called the consequences of government raising the minimum wage.

Hennepin County Commissioner Jeff Johnson was banking on a get-out-the-vote operation spearheaded by the state GOP, thanks to winning the endorsement.

Former House Speaker Kurt Zellers was personally calling voters. And former House Minority Leader Marty Seifert was also on the trail.

The Democrats have a contested race for State Auditor.

Some voters will also be asked to vote in local races for things like city council, and school board.

Lindstrom says he's expecting voter turnout to be around eight to 10 percent.

Primary Election – Tuesday, August 12th

U.S. Senate (GOP)
- Mike McFadden
- Jim Abeler
- David Carlson
- Patrick Munro
- O. Savior

Sixth District Congress (GOP)
- Tom Emmer
- Rhonda Sivarajah

Governor (GOP)
- Jeff Johnson
- Scott Honour
- Kurt Zellers
- Marty Seifert
- Merrill Anderson

St. Cloud City Council
1st Ward
- Dave Masters (I)
- Darrell Bruestle
- Abbul Kulane

Sauk Rapids City Council (2 seats)

- Kurt Hunstiger (I)
- Art Daniels
- Tony Hommerding
- Bryan Kosidowski
- Ellen Thronson

St. Cloud School Board (3 seats)
- Bruce Mohs (I)
- Jerry VonKorff (I)
- Peter Hamerlinck (I)
- Bruce Hentges
- Scott Andreasen
- Michael Conway
- Hassan Abdullahi Yussuf

Stearns County
- John Sanner (I)
- Mark Bromenschenkel
- Tim Kantos

Benton County
County Commissioner – District 2
- Dennis Niess
- Edward Popp
- Miles Seppelt