UNDATED - Our dry conditions have prompted the state to put some campfire restrictions in place.

The Department of Natural Resources will put restrictions on campfires and open burning in 22 counties, starting this Sunday.  The counties in the restricted area include: Benton, Stearns, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, and Todd.

Campfires or recreational fires outside of communities will only be allowed in a designated fire pit designed for that type of use.

However, campfires will still be allowed at staffed campgrounds and resorts.

In addition, no burning permits will be issued to the public, and no use of fireworks will be allowed outside of communities.

Department of Natural Resources: Counties in Yellow are included in the restrictions.