ST. PAUL (AP) - Gov. Mark Dayton has declared a state of emergency for 46 Minnesota counties impacted by spring flooding.

The order Dayton signed Wednesday allows the State Emergency Operations Center to provide immediate help when those counties ask for help. It also directs the Adjutant General of the Minnesota National Guard to order to active duty personnel and equipment to provide assistance in preparing for floods and providing emergency relief services.

Dayton's order comes as many areas along the Crow, Minnesota and Mississippi rivers are expecting a second flood crest, and areas along the Red River and its tributaries in northern Minnesota prepare for another year of record or near-record flooding.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)