ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) - The new Republican majority in the Minnesota House will be led by Rep. Kurt Daudt.

His 72-member caucus elected him speaker on Friday in a closed-door meeting. The choice will become official when the session opens in January.

Daudt is a former car salesman from Crown who was minority leader when Democrats were in charge. Republicans captured the majority in Tuesday's election and Daudt won his third term.

Joyce Peppin of Rogers, just elected to her sixth term, was picked as majority leader, the No. 2 post in the House.

Daudt beat out former House Majority Leader Matt Dean of Dellwood and Rep. Rod Hamilton of Mountain Lake for the speaker's job.