ST. CLOUD -- The National Weather Service has issued a severe thunderstorm watch for several counties in Minnesota until 10:00 p.m. Sunday night.

Counties affected in the area are Benton, Kandiyohi, Meeker, Morrison, Sherburne, Stearns, and Wright.

A severe thunderstorm watch means that while severe weather may not actually be happening, atmospheric conditions bring the potential for severe weather to occur.